Indiana State

Indiana State/ Indiana State

Martinsville's Breeden named Miss Softball

Posted On: Friday, June 23, 2006
By: alexanderscot
Martinsville's Breeden named Miss Softball

Martinsville catcher Jessica Breeden, who drove
in the only run in the Artesiansâ?? recent 1-0 Class 4A state championship
victory over Chesterton, has been named 2006 Miss Softball by the Indiana Coaches
of Girls Sports Association.

the award came after the University of Indianapolis-bound Breeden had hit the
game-winning grand slam for the South squad in Game 1 of the Indiana All-Star Classic
softball doubleheader June 17 at Ben Davis â??? the same locale where her two-out
double a week before defeated top-ranked Chesterton and gave No. 9 Martinsville
its second straight 4A title.

is a fitting tribute to someone who’s meant so much to Indiana
high school girls athletics,” Martinsville
coach Ken Rhoden told The Indianapolis
. “You know she’s a three-sport athlete. If she had taken the time
to play (just) one sport, she could have been Miss Volleyball, Miss Basketball,
Miss Softball, or whatever she wanted to do.

actually spread out her efforts, but her contribution to Indiana high school athletics is legendary.
She’s put in the time and the effort and is a great person.”

volleyball coach, Sandy Garrard, concurred.

is one of the two best all-around athletes I have ever coached,â? said the Martinsville mentor. â??She
would come into practice on the first day (fresh off another sport) and pick right
up like sheâ??d been there for weeks.

just a great kid.�

LouAnn Hopson was named the ICGSAâ??s coach of the year during the weekendâ??s
all-star festivities. Also awarded was long-time Roncalli coach Jim Padgett,
who became the 21st inductee into the ICGSA Hall of Fame for softball.

winners of the Miss Softball award:

1993: Stacey Hrabota, Valparaiso
1994: Jenny Schoen, Carmel
1995: Leslie Rossa, Lake Central
1996: Crystal Inman, Shenandoah
1997: LeAnne Eddington, Indianapolis Cathedral
1998: Jaime Rasmussen, Whiteland
1999: Wendy Cannon, Portage
2000: Mary Blessing, Decatur Central
2001: Megan Ciolli, Terre Haute North
2002: Amy Kendall, Fort Wayne Northrop
2003: Brooke Baker, Lake Central
2004: Darcy Wood, Center Grove
2005: Katie Mitchell, Lake Central
2006: Jessica Breeden, Martinsville

what do
you think? Share your thoughts in our Softball forum.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google +
  • email
  • LinkedIn
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Tumblr



    Please log in to vote

    You need to log in to vote. If you already had an account, you may log in here

    Alternatively, if you do not have an account yet you can create one here.